Opinion » Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Independence will protect vulnerable communities

Guest Opinion: Independence will protect vulnerable communities

By Nancy Tung

We see around us every day that what's happening on our streets isn't working.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 689 Stories

By Suzy Loftus | September 11, 2019

We San Franciscans are blessed to live in a city that celebrates our rich diversity, where we find sanctuary with one another.

By Scott Wiener | September 11, 2019

Gay state Senator Scott Wiener makes the case for Kamala Harris for president.


By Leif Dautch | September 4, 2019

When it comes to homelessness, car break-ins, and police accountability, the San Francisco District Attorney's office has been part of the problem — I'm running to make it part of the solution.

By Chesa Boudin | September 4, 2019

When I was in diapers, my parents drove the getaway car in an armed robbery that tragically took three lives. My mother spent 22 years in prison.


By Joe Hollendoner, Rafael Mandelman, and Laura Thomas | September 4, 2019

Recent headlines scream that "Meth is back" but we know that methamphetamine never left the LGBTQ community, at least not here in San Francisco.

By Rabab Ibrahim Abdulhadi, Mary Salome, Kate Raphael, and Deeg Gold | August 28, 2019

On August 18, the Palestinian Authority Police Force issued a statement banning the activities of alQaws for Sexual and Gender Diversity in Palestinian Society and encouraging Palestinians to police, criminalize, and report on alQaws activities.


By Jeff Freitas | August 21, 2019

"My name is Jeff Freitas, I am an American Federation of Teachers vice president, the president of the California Federation of Teachers, and I am a gay teacher."

By Tom Brougham | August 14, 2019

This month marks the 40th anniversary of the "invention" of domestic partnerships policy. On August 21, 1979, I delivered two letters to my employer, the City of Berkeley.


By Edafe Okporo | August 7, 2019

What is the cost of inaction to me and the people I love? This is the question I ask myself each time I find myself with a bullhorn and a group of people marching and protesting for change.

By by Janetta Johnson | July 31, 2019

Everyday, my staff and I at TGI Justice Project work tirelessly to find a safe place to call home for our transgender, gender variant, and intersex community. It keeps me up at night. It should keep us all up at night.


By Leslie Ewing | July 24, 2019

Ever since I announced my retirement from Pacific Center, people have been asking, "What's next?"

By Ruth Borenstein | July 17, 2019

Another Pride, another year of people expressing frustration about the large corporate presence at the parade.


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 689 Stories