Opinion » Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: End may be near for 'alphabet soup'

Guest Opinion: End may be near for 'alphabet soup'

By Michael Colbruno

A spate of recent headlines must make one wonder if the "alphabet soup" movement that has led us to LGBTTIQQ2SA — lesbian, gay, bisexual, transsexual, transgender, intersex, queer, questioning, two spirit, and allies — has finally seen its day.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 668 Stories

By Scott Wiener | May 22, 2019

Last week the chair of the Senate Appropriations Committee decided to unilaterally postpone my housing bill, Senate Bill 50 (the More HOMES Act) without holding a vote.

By Brian Rogers | May 8, 2019

Spring is here! Finally our dreary winter will give way to a beautiful display of the natural beauty in Sonoma County. For lifelong LGBT activists like myself, the longer days of spring also mean Pride season is approaching.


By Cole M. Bienek | May 1, 2019

I live in an environment where the expression of my sexuality is against the law. The California Medical Facility in Vacaville is enlightened enough to offer free condoms to inmates, yet the use of them to have sex is specifically prohibited.

By Kevin Dowling | April 24, 2019

I had heard of Pete Buttigieg before he started running for president in February.


By Katrina C. Rose | April 17, 2019

Democratic National Committee Chair Tom Perez said the party chose Milwaukee, Wisconsin for its 2020 convention "because the city embodies who we are as a party."

By Deepa Varma and Tommi Avicolli Mecca | April 17, 2019

As tenant advocates, we fight every day to keep our neighbors and our communities here in the city. Our organizations counsel the vast majority of rent control tenants who seek help in San Francisco.


By Reese Aaron Isbell | April 10, 2019

"Congratulations! Now, we need to talk to you about increasing your rent."

By Joe D'Alessandro | April 3, 2019

In December 2018, San Francisco dominated the Best of Gay Cities 2018 travel awards, taking home the gold for "Most Welcoming City" and winning honors for "Sustainable Dining," "Most Loved Bar" (440 Castro), and "Rainbow Crosswalk."


By John Bare | March 27, 2019

As of last week, Jimmy Carter was 94 years and 172 days old, making him the longest surviving president in U.S. history, surpassing George H.W. Bush, who died at the end of last year, and Gerald Ford before him.

By Evie P. Jeang | March 20, 2019

The future of commercial and international surrogacy is under threat by President Donald Trump's pledge to end birthright citizenship for children born to non-citizens and undocumented immigrants.


By Lane Palmer | March 13, 2019

Historically, California has been one of the vanguards of social progress.

By Ashley C. McCumber | March 6, 2019

In March 2014, 15 LGBT advocates and leaders in the aging field delivered our 18-month review and recommendations to the San Francisco Board of Supervisors.


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 668 Stories