Opinion » Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Beyond representation

Guest Opinion: Beyond representation

By Edafe Okporo

President Donald Trump's administration reduced the number of refugees allowed into the country for 2019 to 30,000, a historic low, and placed a ban on the southern border processing of asylum claims, leading to more detention of migrants at the border.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 641 Stories

By Matt Haney | November 14, 2018

Last week, I was honored to be elected as the next supervisor for District 6, representing the Tenderloin, South of Market, Mission Bay, South Beach, Rincon Hill, and Treasure Island.

By Erick Arguello | November 7, 2018

Galería de la Raza is an institution that is deeply rooted in the Mission district's identity of culture, art, resistance, and celebration.


By Clair Farley | October 31, 2018

Last week the New York Times exposed yet another attack by the Trump administration on transgender and gender-nonconforming (TGNC) Americans by calling for the Department of Health and Human Services to redefine sex for the purposes of Title IX.

By Bevan Dufty | September 26, 2018

At this point, everyone who lives, works, or visits San Francisco has become an expert on homelessness.


By by Katrina C. Rose | September 19, 2018

The remark Marshall McPeek, a gay meteorologist at a Sinclair-owned TV station in Ohio, made at this year's NLGJA conference is the here and now.

By Steve Friess | September 12, 2018

NLGJA: The Association of LGBTQ Journalists was concluding a lovely annual convention in Palm Springs last weekend when a nice man said a stupid thing and a lot of other presumably nice, reasonable people became angry.


By Marilyn Murrillo | September 5, 2018

We need members on the San Francisco Unified School District Board of Trustees who are effective leaders dedicated to the safety and education of all students.

By Charlie Spiegel | August 29, 2018

I was appalled to hear a gay man interviewed during this current presidency, or, as I prefer, "residency," who said: "See, he's been in the White House for months and hasn't done away with gay marriage."


By Nancy A. Magee | August 22, 2018

I felt lucky to be sitting with thousands of kindred spirits in Davies Symphony Hall last Friday night enjoying Ellen DeGeneres' first stand-up comedy tour in 15 years.

By Ken Jones | August 15, 2018

The Castro Muni station has meant a lot of different things to me during the past four decades: a construction site. A community rallying place. A point of entry for gay people from around the globe. And now, a workplace.


By Timothy Rodrigues | August 8, 2018

The former Bay Area Reporter assistant editor who wrote the paper's famous "No obits" story reflects on it 20 years later.

By Sandy Close | August 1, 2018

The U.S. Census Bureau is seeking public comment on its 2020 census plan, which includes a citizenship question on the census form all households must answer.


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 641 Stories