Opinion

Guest Opinion: Jose Sarria's history is important

Guest Opinion: Jose Sarria's history is important

By Nathan Page

Jose Sarria has been called the "Rosa Parks of the gay rights movement" of the 1960s. His history is important and now there's an effort underway to induct him posthumously into the California Hall of Fame.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 1571 Stories

By BAR Editorial Board | July 10, 2019

Last week in this space we praised Democratic presidential candidate Kamala Harris' debate performance for confronting former Vice President Joe Biden on his opposition to federally mandated busing to desegregate public schools. Biden was flummoxed.

By Paul Berge | July 10, 2019

This week's editorial cartoon.


By BAR staff | July 10, 2019

This week's letters to the editor.

By BAR Editorial Board | July 2, 2019

Former Vice President Joe Biden's performance in the first Democratic presidential primary debates punctured his aura of an inevitable frontrunner and sowed doubts among primary voters and pundits.


By Marc Huestis | July 2, 2019

Although I was firmly planting roots in San Francisco, I was also itching to see other parts of the world. I was in the prime of my life and I wanted new experiences, new faces, new surroundings.

By Paul Berge | July 2, 2019

This week's editorial cartoon.


By Paul Berge | June 26, 2019

This week's editorial cartoon.

By BAR Editorial Board | June 26, 2019

This June numerous cities around the Bay Area displayed their Pride.


By Paul Berge | June 26, 2019

This week's editorial cartoon.

By Ken Yeager | June 26, 2019

It was in early 1984 when I picked up the Sunday San Jose Mercury News and read an opinion piece by a local state Assembly member stating that homosexuals should have no legal, social, or political standing in society.


By BAR Editorial Board | June 19, 2019

The recent Oakland City Council budget meeting seems to have resolved little in terms of restoring funding to LGBTQ organizations.

By James Brandon | June 19, 2019

Pride Month is here! And with it comes a monthlong excursion navigating coast-to-coast parades to celebrate community, self-affirmation, and a true gathering of family with every facet of the LGBTQ2+ prism.


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 1571 Stories