Opinion

Guest Opinion: Castro needs safe sleeping village

Guest Opinion: Castro needs safe sleeping village

By Rafael Mandelman

Shelter in place, which has been so successful at flattening the curve and saving lives, has been a disaster for street conditions in San Francisco.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 1736 Stories

By BAR Editorial Board | May 27, 2020

The Williams Institute recently released new data revealing that more than 200,000 LGBT adults in the Golden State are at high risk for COVID-19, the illness caused by the virus.

By Paul Berge | May 27, 2020

This week's editorial cartoon.


By Imani Rupert-Gordon | May 27, 2020

This year's Anniversary Celebration for the National Center for Lesbian Rights will be nothing like I imagined when I accepted the position as executive director in late 2019.

By BAR staff | May 27, 2020

This week's letters to the editor.


By BAR Editorial Board | May 20, 2020

Last week we reported that California LGBT leaders were angry that Governor Gavin Newsom and his public health department have not gathered data on the sexual orientation and gender identity of COVID-19 patients.

By Paul Berge | May 20, 2020

This week's editorial cartoon.


By | May 13, 2020

As the B.A.R. forges ahead with its crowdfunding campaign to keep the newspaper operating during these difficult times, it was heartening to read a recent Gallup research paper that stated Americans agree that local news should receive COVID-19 relief.

By Kaushik Roy | May 13, 2020

Given what has transpired in our nation over the last several years, it is hard to argue with what then-Senator Barack Obama asserted in 2006: that America indeed suffers from an "empathy deficit."


By Paul Berge | May 13, 2020

This week's editorial cartoon.

By John-Manuel Andriote | May 6, 2020

On my desk are three mementos of the AIDS pandemic. They remind me of what we lived through in the frightening early years of a plague that seemed hell-bent on killing gay men — and the high price we have paid for our resilience.


By BAR Editorial Board | May 6, 2020

As researchers race to understand the effects of COVID-19, the illness caused by the novel coronavirus, it's clear that African Americans across the country are dying at higher rates than the general population.

By Paul Berge | May 6, 2020

This week's editorial cartoon.


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 1736 Stories